History of Fishers Hotel Pitlochry main street


Availability & Booking

Guaranteed Best Rates



 

Mr Fisher's Hotel

The landmark Fisher’s Hotel in Pitlochry has been purchased by Mr Fionn MacCumhaill, Managing Director of The Atholl Palace and Mr Jim Staunton, a former Director of the Atholl Palace, who have embarked on restoring the hotel back to the traditional hospitality which has made Pitlochry a desirable destination for more than a century.  It is expected that, over the coming years, a six figure sum will be spent.

The duo have a wealth of experience in the hospitality industry over the last 25 years

The hotel was originally built as a coaching inn by the highly regarded Butter Family,  who were key promoters of the infant Scottish tourist industry.

She became known as " Fisher's “ after the colourful character Donald Fisher who ran the hotel from about 1853. Mr. Fisher was evidently a charming personality who, in between farming shorthorn cattle and giving speeches, made the hotel famous and enticed the celebrities of Victorian Britain to visit. 

Robert Louis Stevenson lived here with his wife until Kinnaird Cottage was prepared for them.

While Chancellor of the Exchequer in 1864 Gladstone stayed here on holday and visited in 1887 on the campaign trail.

Mr Gladstone stayed in the Caledonian Suite during his visits in 1864 and 1887 and this is amongst the rooms now described as 'Superior Rooms' . These grand rooms have already been refurbished and have ample space for their two double beds and bay windows looking out onto the centre of Pitlochry. 

 
award three stars by VisitScotland
Phone +441796 472000         info@fishershotelpitlochry.com